Beltz, Kes, Darling & Associates - Committed to the Success of Charter Schools

(p) 651.463.2233   (e)

BKDA Logo and Header

BKDA Staff

The staff at BKDA have built their careers serving charter schools just like yours. Our commitment and experience has earned BKDA the reputation as the leading provider of business management services for Minnesota Charter Schools. Please see our staff list below that brings you over 125 years of combined experience in school business management:

Jenny Abbs

Jenny Abbs

651.463.2233 Ext. 216
Email: jabbs@bkda.org

I have been involved in charter schools in Minnesota since 2003. I began as the office manager at Twin Cities Academy in St. Paul. During my 8 year tenure I moved up to become the school’s business manager, and also helped launch a new charter school, Twin Cities Academy High School. I began working with Beltz, Kes, Darling, and Associates in 2011 and am pleased to continue providing quality business management services for Minnesota Charter Schools. I have a passion to help charter schools understand school funding, manage their finances, and meet all reporting deadlines. I am very proud to work with the leader in this industry.

Heidi Ashby

Heidi Ashby

651.463.2233 Ext. 215
Email: hashby@bkda.org

Mark Beltz

Mark Beltz, CPA

651.480.1501
Email: mark@mbeltz.com

Co-founder of BKDA, Mark has been providing business management services for schools for several years. Mark is a CPA who audited school districts for several years in the 1980's. From 1990 - 1997 Mark was Business Manager for Farmington School District where he revised the entire accounting and budget system that served 4,000 students with a 24 million dollar operating budget. While in Farmington, Mark provided the superintendent, school board and community with simple and easily understood financial information models that assisted in the passage of 3 bond referendums, 2 operating levy referendums, and consistently accurate budgets that enabled the school district to increase its unreserved general fund balance from 0% in 1990 to 9% in 1997. The result was a restoration of trust and credibility of the business office with the school board, staff and community. From 1997 to present, Mark has been using these same techniques in providing financial consulting services to school districts and charter schools and has been the contracted business manager since 1998 for Community of Peace Academy, a large growing charter school in St. Paul.

Mike Beltz

Mike Beltz

651-463-2233 Ext. 201
Email: mike@bkda.org

Co-founder of BKDA, Mike has worked in public accounting performing compilations and preparing business tax returns. He has worked with charter schools for the past twelve years in a variety of roles. He manages the day to day operations of Beltz, Kes, Darling & Associates and is responsible for resolving any computer hardware and software issues.

Heidi Brenneman

Heidi Brenneman

651.463.2233 Ext. 231
Email: hbrenneman@bkda.org

Lisa Burg

Lisa Burg

651.463.2233 Ext. 251
Email: lburg@bkda.org

Karen Busta

Karen Busta

651.463.2233 Ext. 211
Email: kbusta@bkda.org

Melissa Christianson

Melissa Christianson

651.463.2233 Ext. 246
Email: mchristianson@bkda.org

Judith Darling

Judith Darling, CPA, MBA

651.463.2233 Ext. 202
Email: jdarling@bkda.org

Judith joined BKDA in 2004 after providing business management services to several metro charter schools. After graduating from St. Olaf College, Judith went on to earn her MBA from University of St. Thomas. During her tenure as an auditor, serving traditional school districts, Judith also earned her CPA license. Judith’s technical expertise provides BKDA’s clients the sound advice necessary to effectively manage a School’s finances.

Michael ( Mick ) Dudero

Michael ( Mick ) Dudero

651.463.2233 Ext. 243
Email: mdudero@bkda.org

Autumn Enright

Autumn Enright

651.463.2233 Ext. 252
Email: aenright@bkda.org

Kristine Eustice

Kristine Eustice

507.995.8491
Email: keustice@bkda.org

Kristine served as the District Business Manager for a consolidated school district in Southern Minnesota for four years after a twenty year career in accounting and leadership in the private sector. She has spent most of her career working with organizations in the areas of Strategic Planning, Team Building, and Budgeting/Finance. A four year member of MASBO and Communications Committee member, she has also earned her School Business Official Certification from MASBO. She is a former Secretary/Treasurer of the MN State Board of Accountancy. Kristine is excited to be on the BKDA team and bring her expertise to Charter Schools in the areas of accounting, budgeting, and strategic planning.

Kara Gaffy

Kara Gaffy, CPA

320-260-7164
Email: kgaffy@bkda.org

o I am a SCSU accounting graduate with my CPA licensure who joined BKDA in 2013 after spending the past ten years as an audit manager at the accounting firm of Kern, DeWenter, Viere, Ltd. (KDV) where I managed the audits of cities and schools. Having worked with BKDA during many of our charter school audits, I gained a great respect for their staff and processes. Expanding my career to BKDA has provided me with a job where I enjoy the work I do. Doing what you enjoy no longer makes it work. So, listening and learning from my clients, offering suggestions for improvement and seeing them succeed are the basis of my day. In addition to work, I enjoy time with my two sons who keep me cool. Whether we are fishing, hunting grouse or whitetails or playing video games; we have fun. I also like attempting crossword and Sudoku puzzles.

Mandy Gallahue

Mandy Gallahue

651.463.2233 Ext. 240
Email: mgallahue@bkda.org

Tammy Goff

Tammy Goff

651.463.2233 Ext. 206
Email: tgoff@bkda.org

Nicole Gossman

Nicole Gossman

651.463.2233 Ext. 250
Email: ngossman@bkda.org

Chandra Hauge

Chandra Hauge

651.463.2233 Ext. 234
Email: chauge@bkda.org

Andrea Henderson

Andrea Henderson

651.463.2233 Ext. 207
Email: ahenderson@bkda.org

Chuck Herdegen

Chuck Herdegen

612.308.7864
Email: cherdegen@bkda.org

Chuck has worked with Minnesota school districts providing accounting, business management, and personnel management services since 1976. He has worked with school districts in Litchfield, Little Falls, and Westonka (western metro area), an education district, and currently provides services to charter schools. Throughout his career Chuck has been an active member of the Minnesota Association of School Business Officials (MASBO), having served as the association’s president in 1999-2000 and as the Chair of the Legislative Committee. He has been certified by MASBO as a school business official. During his career he has developed expertise in all areas of school business management, including the proper accounting and reporting of data, the negotiation and administration of personnel contracts, and the operation of school district support service programs.

Jacob Jaeger

Jacob Jaeger

651.463.2233 Ext. 230
Email: jjaeger@bkda.org

Brenda Kes

Brenda Kes

651.463.2233 Ext. 204
Email: bkes@bkda.org

Brenda, co-founder of BKDA, has been providing business management services for charter schools since 2003. Prior to working with charter schools, Brenda was the accounting supervisor for Farmington School District for 12 years. During that time she also managed the finances for six school building projects. In addition, she assisted in the implementation of a WAN (wide area network) for the District. Brenda has been a member of MASBO, Minnesota Association of School Business Officials since 1993.

Theresa Kingsbury

Theresa Kingsbury, CPA

651.463.2233 Ext. 245
Email: tkingsbury@bkda.org

Kelly Kroll

Kelly Kroll

651.463.2233 Ext. 244
Email: kkroll@bkda.org

Prior to joining the team at BKDA, Kelly worked at a CPA firm in Bloomington called Kern, DeWenter, and Viere, LTD. At KDV she primarily supervised staff and prepared financials statements as an in-charge on audits for charter schools, school districts, governments, and non-for-profits. Kelly has a Bachelor of Science in Accounting and Finance from Bethel University.

Sheryl Lall

Sheryl Lall

651.463.2233 Ext. 227
Email: slall@bkda.org

Andrea Landry

Andrea Landry

651.463.2233 Ext. 203
Email: alandry@bkda.org

As a payroll specialist, Andrea has performed all of the payroll functions in their entirety for a Minnesota school district that employed over 500 people. She has continued to provide payroll services to a variety of charter schools since 2003.

Kelsey Lee

Kelsey Lee

651.463.2233 Ext. 210
Email: klee@bkda.org

Cheryl Lown

Cheryl Lown

651.463.2233 Ext. 249
Email: clown@bkda.org

Dick Panek

Dick Panek

651.463.2233 Ext. 241
Email: dpanek@bkda.org

Joline Raymond

Joline Raymond

651-463-2233 Ext. 208
Email: jraymond@bkda.org

Dustin Reeves

Dustin Reeves

651.463.2233 Ext. 242
Email: dreeves@bkda.org

Tabitha Reinhardt

Tabitha Reinhardt

651.463.2233 Ext. 232
Email: treinhardt@bkda.org

Delores Rivenburg

Delores Rivenburg

651.463.2233 Ext. 213
Email: drivenburg@bkda.org

Marie Sachs

Marie Sachs

651.463.2233 Ext. 209
Email: msachs@bkda.org

April Schloesser

April Schloesser

651.463.2233 Ext. 256
Email: aschloesser@bkda.org

Nick Taintor

Nick Taintor, CPA

763-229-5854 Ext. 228
Email: ntaintor@bkda.org

Nick Joined BKDA in 2010.  Prior to joining BKDA, Nick worked in public accounting for the past 8 years.  Most recently, he was an Audit Manager at HLB Tautges Redpath where he managed audits for nonprofits and governmental entities.  Also, Nick worked with the Office of the State Auditor for two years working on various governmental audits. After graduating from Gustavus Adolphus College he went on to earn his CPA license in May of 2008.  He is also an active member in the Minnesota Society of Certified Accountants as well as various other nonprofit organizations.

Sher Tischner

Sher Tischner

763-229-6705
Email: stischner@bkda.org

Jessie Vought

Jessie Vought

651.463.2233 Ext. 226
Email: jvought@bkda.org

Mindy Wachter

Mindy Wachter

651.463.2233 Ext. 229
Email: mwachter@bkda.org

Charlotte Wagner

Charlotte Wagner

507-676-7066
Email: cwagner@bkda.org

Kim Washa

Kim Washa

651.463.2233 Ext. 212
Email: kwasha@bkda.org

Jana West

Jana West

651.463.2233 Ext. 238
Email: jwest@bkda.org

Emily Woodard

Emily Woodard

651.463.2233 Ext. 255
Email: ewoodard@bkda.org

Christina Wordes

Christina Wordes

320.212.2424
Email: cwordes@bkda.org

BKDA Office Staff Contact Information: Phone 651.463.2233

Name Extension